ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups List

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups List: The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 is all set to start on June 1 and keep the ball rolling till June 18. The 8th edition of ICC Champions Trophy is found to be hosted by England along with India as defending champions. Being played in the format of One-day International Tournaments with 50 overs, the inaugural match will be scheduled between England & Bangladesh at Oval, London.

In the recent times, a complete detail about 2017 ICC Champions Trophy Fixtures together with Venues and Match Timings has been announced. According to CT 2017 Time Table, the most watched-out match of this tournament is said to be India VS Pakistan on 4th June 2017.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups List:

Totally, eight teams are going to be participated in the tournament. These eight teams are further divided into two groups namely Group A and Group B. Each group has four teams. Teams included in Group A are England, New Zealand, Bangladesh and Australia, whereas Group B includes India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and South Africa.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups A:

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups A
ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups A

Once again England and New Zealand are placed in same group after four years. The other two teams joining them include rising stars Bangladesh and World Champions Australia. England will take on Bangladesh at Kennington Oval, London in the opening match. Bangladesh is not the one, which seems to be taken lightly. This is because that they have created history recently when they move towards 6th position in the ODI rankings. Bangladesh led by Mashrafe Mortaza is now placed above Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indies too.

After a long gap of about 11 years, Bangladesh has come back to ICC Champions Trophy 2017 with the aim to make its count by progressing deep into the tournament. Another mouth watering contest would be between long-time rivals Australia and England. This match is announced to be played at Edgbaston where lots of fireworks are looking forward to set off. It is a matter of inference to predict who will proceed to knockout stage through this group. But, the best thing is that spectators will surely have a delight for their eyes.

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups B:

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups B
ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Groups B

India’s opening match is against Pakistan. Defending champions India would clash with challengers Pakistan at Edgbaston, Birmingham. Having a capacity of about 21,000, the stadium would be full and enthusiasm is always expected to be high. India will strive to continue their excellent record against Pakistan in the most important ICC tournaments. The other members of Group B will be dark horses. Sri Lanka is led by Angelo Mathews. Sri Lanka will surely lock horns with foes South Africa at the Oval, London. This is going to be an interesting match to watch out for. The contest, which Pakistan has, with Sri Lanka and India will definitely generate lots of excitement. Pakistan will also take on South Africa and this match will become a treat for cricket enthusiasts to watch, since it is expected as an even contest between bat and ball.

Each team will play against each other once within their Groups, and the top two teams will get qualified for semi-finals, which will be the knock-out round. The 1st top team of the Group A will play on the 2nd top team of Group B; whereas, the 1st top team of Group B will play on the 2nd top team of the Group A. These knockout rounds (semifinals) will happen on June 14 and June 15 respectively. The great finals will be held on 18th of June – 2017.

In terms, it is believed that both the groups of this ICC Champions Trophy 2017 are very tougher and competitive, thereby, great action is guaranteed. Let’s wait and watch which teams qualify for the semifinals and finals and who will be the champions of ICC Champions Trophy 2017.  The both ICC Champions Trophy 2017 groups are stronger.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *